ALCOHOL AND IT’S AFFECTS!  

PF-wine_1398472cI know I may lose some of my loyal readers this month because I thought I ought to write on a subject what most people don’t just write about to often, but it’s a  subjects I think important for the general public to know about it’s possible ramifications… I believe that if you really want to help people you have to get into the city and get real – in my opinion and so – let’s just get to this first lesson kids, and you will enjoy the read, I’m sure –  OK???

Know that I thought long and hard about writing this blog because I really like my Pinot Grigio – but, those who follow me, in particular on my radio shows, and my patient’s for sure – if you meet any of them will tell you – and these are Gloria’s words “Dr. Rhonda is very transparent and that’s why we can’t get away with too much with her because she’s been in most of our places and understands – but that’s why we love her”And know, I didn’t pay her for her words – I don’t do that either!

Did You Know?

How many US adults (aged 18 years or older) drank in the past year, and how much did they drink?

 Women           Men

Percentage who had at least 1 drink

59.6%              71.8%

Percentage who have never drunk – lifetime abstainers

22.5%              11.6%

Percentage of binge drinkers

28.8%              43.1%

 

How many drinks did drinkers usually consume on a drinking day?

Women           Men

1 drink

48.2%              28.7%

2 drinks

29.9%              29.0%

3 or more drinks

21.9%              42.3%

 

According to a recent survey conducted by the National Institute on Alcohol Abuse and Alcoholism (NIAAA).

 

Alcohol & the Brain:

The Good & the Bad –

 

Excess Drinking:  

*          90,000 deaths/year

*          2.5 million years of potential life lost/year

*          1.2 million emergency department visits/year

*          2.7 million office visits/year

*          $223 billion in economic costs/year

 

            Effects of Alcohol on the Developing Brain:

 

*          Increased risk for young onset dementia

*          Contribute to later life use abuse behaviours

*          Drinking before age 14 years increases dependency risk

*          Decreased brain plasticity with fetal exposure

A Swedish study published in JAMA Internal Medicine in August 2013.

OK, you may need a drink after all Adementiathose righteous figures, but don’t give up on you, we will be
continuing on this subject and when we’re through you can do whatever you need to do, and if you need help – find it – call – but just don’t do ‘nothing’ – that would make all my time and effort so useless.  And when you decide to do something, will you please send me an email and let me know how you’re doing – this will also encourage others.  I always answer my own emails not like the big guys who haven’t lived the hell of addiction:  contact@drhenry.com – Just to let you know – most people have some addiction they just hide it better than I did at 311 pounds and even you gym junkies – let’s get real, and get the devil off our backs.  What a concept!

‘Caring is Sharing’ and that’s I’m all about so please pass me on because that’s how we continue to help ourselves and others.

Plan for Tomorrow’s Good Health – TODAY!

Dr. Rhonda

 

Website:                http://www.drhenry.com

Email:                   contact@drhenry.com

Office:                   702-269-8120

 

 

Leave a comment