PET PERKS:

PetPerks

 

Whether it be Smokie your canine companion, or Mollie, Maygen, and Maxie Boy, my feline kids – or even if you have both – you’re most likely reaping health benefits by having then as your pet. Why?

Studies indicate that having a pet can help:

*      lower stress levels

*      decrease blood pressure

*      support healthy cholesterol levels

*       improve our moods

*       boost our immunity, and more

For example, many studies, including some via the National Institute of Health, say that dogs can offer great social support and stress relief – sometimes even better than family or friends can.  Additionally, some studies even say that having a dog can control blood pressure better than prescription d rugs are able to.  Then there’s the exercise aspect.  Those who own dogs exercise more consistently than those who don’t own dogs.

Some other health benefits from having a dog are:PetPerk1

  • increased longevity after having a heart attack
  • lowered cholesterol and triglycerides
  • improved blood pressure
  • reduction of irregular heartbeats, or arrythmias
  • improved blood vessel function
  • increased physical activity as well as physical functioning
  • reduction of minor health difficulties
  • improved mood
  • boost in self esteem
  • improved alertness and attention in elderly people who own pets

Having a cat as a pet has its perks, too.

A study by the Minnesota Stroke Institute, which followed more than 4,000 cat owners over a 10-year time period, found that owning a cat can greatly reduce a person’s chance of dying from heart disease.  In fact, the study found that those who don’t have cats were between 30 to 40 percent more likely to die of cardiovascular disease than cat owners were.  But were the same benefits found with owning dogs?  Not so, according to the study.

cat-dog

Other benefits of having a feline friend – some of which mirror the benefits of having a dog as a pet – include:

  • a reduction in heart attack and stroke risk
  • improved immune function
  • decreased chance of children developing allergies
  • helping to prevent asthma in children
  • reduced stress and anxiety
  • reduced blood pressure
  • low triglyceride and cholesterol levels
  • help with autism (in some instances) and depression

Likewise, pet ownership – in general – can reduce stress hormones such as adrenaline and cortisol, can boost your immune system and can aid the management of pain.  Having a furry friend has also been found to reduce aggression, to build empathy and to improve learning, while  fostering a great sense of trust in others.  Additionally, owning a pet can speed recovery following surgery.

I can tell you that I recently had knee surgery and my cats took turns being with me, I was never alone, not for a moment – that’s true love and companionship.  So, if you haven’t thanked your pet lately for being such a wonderful companion, then give him or her an extra dose of appreciation and treats for being a great addition to your overall health.kitty

On a sad note.  I have tried for years to at least have cats in Senior Living Homes because of what I’ve just shared.  I even offered to buy the electric litter box and food.  People need something with a heart beat to hold and talk to.  So often children put their parents in homes and think that’s enough.  NO IT’S NOT!   Often when they’re left in these homes they start having more aches and pains, depression, etc., and what does that bring on – another toxic  prescription.  They don’t have a drug deficiency, they have a broken heart, no family, no visitors, etc., what they are is

human attention deficient.

We could start volunteering and visit a couple of times a month.  I promise, you will get more out of it than you ever expected.   Thinking about others, often takes our minds of ourselves, and that could be a very health move!

Dr. Rhonda

Always wanting to help you to –

Plan for Tomorrow’s Good Health – TODAY!

 

Temporary website:          www.drhenry.com

Email inquiries:                 contact@drhenry.com

Las Vegas Office:              702-269-8120

4 thoughts on “PET PERKS:

  1. Right here is the right web site for anyone who wants to understand this topic.
    You realize so much its almost hard to argue with you
    (not that I personally will need to…HaHa). You certainly put a brand new spin
    on a topic which has been discussed for decades.
    Great stuff, just wonderful!

    • Hi There and thank you for visiting and taking the time to leave your comments.
      I’m all about educating others because what I’ve learned has come long and hard.
      Unfortunately, these days if we don’t learn how to take care of our own health – will
      just be part of the “Prescription Drug Society” and who needs these folks on the road?

      Do check out some of my online radio shows and if you want a start to taking care of your
      own health – check out my personalized HealthTest(c) – it’s my heart project so people
      don’t just buy by guessing, but by intelligence.

      Dr. Rhonda
      http://www.drhenry.com
      contact@drhenry.com

    • Well, believe it or not, I thought I read your blog and acknowledged it previously – computers??????
      Anyway, let me thank you again for visiting, sending your comments and know all was appreciated.

      By the way, I blog 2-3 times a week and my online shows are archived for everyone’s convenience.
      My shows are educational, often controversial, but always the truth – as I see it. It’s time that those who really care about their health got legitimate information and some health tools to get them directed. I guess I’m doing, what nobody did for me.

      Thanks again and visit often and do tell your family, friends and social media gangs that there is really someone who cares about them, even though I don’t as yet know them personally.
      Dr. Rhonda
      http://www.drhenry.com
      contact@drhenry.com

    • What’s really strange is that I remembered your comments and believed I responded, but here you are again, so just in case – thank you so much for visiting and taking the time to leave such a nice words – appreciated for sure.

      I blog 2-3 times a week and my online radio shows are certainly worth your time to check some of them out and share the legitimate information I work so hard to convey and, and I don’t ask for your credit care so I can sell you 6-months of a product that you may or may not need.

      Thanks again and take care of you and those you care about.
      Dr. Rhonda
      http://www.drhenry.com
      contact@drhenry.com

Leave a comment